top of page

If I Were to do it Again...

After five months in Europe, most of that time in Copenhagen, I learned a few things. As I review my time here, there are some things that I am grateful I did, either because they went well or because their outcome was worthwhile. Then there are some things I could have done slightly different, had I known better. This is what I wish I would have known.

1. Buy ticket to Europe off of budget traveler sites/apps.

Before I left the United States, I had to purchase a round trip ticket to Copenhagen. Being new to the game, we did not know better but now looking back, had I purchased it off of one of the websites I now know of, I could have gotten it at a fraction of the price. But I learned about this opportunity along the way, when it was too late.

2. Apply for study abroad scholarships.

Yes, I did apply to some scholarships, but there was time for me to invest just a little more time and effort on applying to more, and that could have been rather beneficial.

3. Get familiar with the language.

Before leaving, I started to play around with Duolingo, and Danish. But I was not very serious about it, and did not stick with it. I wish I would have, not saying that I would be fluent in Danish by any means, but at least I would have understood more at the beginning. Now, learning Danish is not as useful unless I move back here someday, but at the beginning, a few words and phrases could have come in handy.

4. Pack less.

I brought way too many clothes, ended up wearing less than two thirds of them, because they were the most practical, the most convenient and the kind that I felt most comfortable in. I did not need to bring so many choices, specially things that I rarely wear back at home. But I could have used more underwear and socks.

5. Choose the housing option for you.

I chose a homestay, and even though there were moments that were valuable about that experience, including meeting some cool people through my homestay network, I would not choose it again. I would go straight to a Kollegium. When I was filling out my housing application, I remember being the most excited about life in a Kollegium, but felt like I should choose a homestay. That is what others who had studied abroad had loved the most. I should have chosen what felt right for me, not for them. That being said, I am happy that things turned out the way that they did, for I loved my experience, even the unpleasant parts.

6. Get a gym membership, wisely.

Within my first week in Copenhagen, I got a gym membership. I chose the one the school recommended, not knowing any better. It served its purpose, and I do not regret signing up. Working out helped me stay somewhat sane, and it is one of those things I am happy that I did. But this membership included fitness classes in Danish that I never went to but paid for. I could have done a little more research and maybe saved a little bit of money.

7. Travel, but do so carefully.

I regret very little when it comes to travelling. I am so thankful of all the cities I visited and all that I got to see and experience. I am happy that I embarked on those adventures. But I did learn some things. First, I learned that I need to be more assertive with what I want when travelling with other people, specially people I do not know too well. I need to be clear about what I want to do and not do. Then, what should be obvious but wasn't: rain boots and a rain coat would have been useful in London and Dublin, but instead they were sitting in my closet back in Copenhagen. Third is to be very careful with the purchase of tickets. A couple of times, I had to buy the same ticket twice, or pay the change fee because I was not careful to look over dates and times.

8. Stay out.

I wish I would have stayed out more. Instead of heading back to my place everyday after class, I should have stayed in the city and really take it in. I wish that during my days off I would have taken short trips to see what is around Denmark. But instead, I took much needed rest days. And although part of me is upset because I wasted that time, I also know that it was much needed.

9. Talk, and befriend the locals.

I wish I would have dared to talk to Danes more, to try harder to be their friend instead of retreated to my comfort zone, staying with other American students or fellow international students. The Danes are closed, but enough effort could have made the difference.

10. Spend money on experiences.

I was very frugal with my money while in Copenhagen, but part of me wishes that I would have spent more to experience more. There is a lot I decided not to do to save money, and instead should have spent it, knowing that I will happily work to pay it back later.

11. Eat everything that is different.

I am glad that I tasted all the food that I did. It was a crucial part of the experience.

12. STUDY!

I wrote a whole post about this, but I was here to study and should have made that a priority. I should have tried harder, and truly engaged academically.

13. Really save money.

I saved some money before coming abroad, but I could have saved more. I spent it on things that could have waited until my return.

Overall, I learned so much. As cliche as that is, I learned a lot about myself and about the world. I am not the same girl who was anxious about packing five months ago.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page