top of page

The Study in Study Abroad

Overwhelmed by the city of Copenhagen, a growing "must see" list, and increasing travel plans, it was easy to forget that I came to Europe to study, not just travel. I came here as a student, not a tourist. This semester was not a vacation.

And I had heard it all before. I had watched the videos, read the blogs, all which reminded me to set apart time to do homework, to study: to prioritize my academics.

But did I listen? Absolutely not. Lost in this adventure that felt so separated from the reality that I was used to, I procrastinated. I put aside my studies. And I paid the consequences.

I remember so clearly, and I am a little traumatized by what Midterms felt like this semester. After almost two months of skimming readings, half paying attention in lectures and forgetting my main purpose, I found myself suddenly drowning in actual homework, with piling due dates that once seemed so far away, with more to do than I had time for.

This resulted in almost two weeks of sleepless nights, a growing to do list, with assignments coming at me from every angle. Assignments based on lectures and readings that I had barely engaged with. So, I had to put on my big girl pants and own up to my mistakes. I had to buckle down, and grind out the best I could do given the circumstances. I finished. I passed, but I could have done better.

Academically, this semester should not have been this difficult. I should have gotten higher grades, but because I didn't put in the effort from the very beginning, I struggled quite a bit.

But boy did I learn from this! I think that because of this semester, because of my struggle and the frustration I feel when I think about what I could have done, I think (and I hope) that my last two semesters of college will not repeat the same pattern. Maybe that was the point of this painful experience?


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page