top of page

Friends in Italy

As part of our study of Happiness, and what makes the good life, we embarked on a trip to Italy, specifically to Milan and Verona. It was an academic excursion, but Italy's magic could not be muted by the intellectual lectures and academic visits. If anything, they only enhanced the trip.

Our program spoiled us throughout the entire trip, beginning with the ability to document a piece of luggage, something budget travelling doesn't allow. And then, the hotel in Milan. Simply, wow! It was incredibly fancy, with large rooms, a towel warmer, and a lobby resembling that of a palace.

And the food! Italian food blew my mind. So delicious! And our program allowed us to indulge in amazing meals, and wine without the worrying about wallets. It was easy to be thankful.

While in Milan, I payed a visit to a fellow IWU student spending her semester in this paradise. Crystal took me to taste more Italian food, and indulge in gelato at her favorite shop. Spending the evening with her was wonderful. I got to know her a little better, and see how cool of a person she is, making me want to become closer friends when we return to Illinois. And being with her reminded me of the value that waits for me at home, helping me look forward to my flight home at the end of June instead of dread the end of my European adventures.

We finished the week in Verona, an adorable city, home of Romeo and Juliet. We stopped by "Juliette's House," and I sent her a letter. She is known to answer. (Watch the movie Letters to Juliette to understand this reference)

And on our last day there, my friends and I took a train against the advise of one of our trip leaders and were surprised a breathtaking lake where we spent the afternoon in the sun.

I need to come back to Italy.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page