top of page

Beyond Copenhagen...

After we explored western Denmark with our Positive Psychology class, incredibly curious of why are Danes so happy, one of my classmates, her roommate and I decided to leave Copenhagen, and therefore I had my first and highly anticipated weekend trip in Europe.

Canals

We booked a cheap flight to Amsterdam, and stayed at a humble hostel near the city center.

On the plane to Amsterdam, I sat next to a tall, and large Danish boy whose love for American football and Texas was almost familiar. He dreamed to play college football in the United States next fall. Not only did he tell me that he was on his way to see his girlfriend who he met in Croatia, but we had a deep discussion about Danish culture, and all that it really means. Thanks to this boy who barely fit in his seat, my two hour flight flew by (no pun intended).

Wide-eyed, these two girls and I explored the city, taking in the beautiful architecture, the overwhelming smell of fries and the million canals. Spending hours at the VanGogh Museum, I ran into a girl with whom I graduated high school as she was also enjoying European adventures while studying abroad in London.It was strange yet kind of beautiful to run into a familiar face in an unfamiliar place.

I Amsterdam Sign

Because of my travel companions, I now have plenty of pictures by the "I Amsterdam" sign and by the canals. I also got to enjoy avocado themed food, and climb on top of the A’dam Lookout where I got a view of the entire city before ending our visit with a canal tour where we got to listen to the complex history of this European city.

A'dam Lookout

A'dam Lookout

Although the city is rather beautiful, and has a lot to offer, it still reminded me of why I chose Copenhagen. I have learned to love the cozy coffee shops and restaurants and strict biking rules. Amsterdam, in my opinion, is not as systematic, and as refined as Copenhagen. Although, the incredible history and the famous progressive viewpoints do make this Dutch city inviting, but only for a weekend.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page